Bill Huffor (Left) and Steve Boudreaux (Right)

Congratulations to the 2011 Award Winners!

Jack Gardner Award

The Jack Gardner award is presented to a first-year official who has displayed outstanding achievement in all aspects of football officiating – knowledge of rules, rules application, communication with players and coaches, professionalism, and team work.

2014 – Zach Hoehing
2013 – George Walker
2012 – David McKeever
2011 – Steve Boudreaux
2010 – Marc Groteluschen
2009 – Haven Barnes
2008 – Marc Hetrick
2007 – Mark Bradley
2006 – Mike Klabon and Steve O’Donnell
2005 – Dennis Wansor
2004 – Bill Manley
2003 – Jermaine Harris
2002 – Dave Allgood and Chris Nigro
2001 – Ron Webb
2000 – Doc Holliday
1999 – Devin Bauman

Scott Taylor Award

This award is given in memory of Scott Taylor to the new official who has the highest score on the NFHS test. In 2013, the Scott Taylor Award was amended to recognize the association’s Most Valuable Veteran

2014 – Tim Fisher
2013 – Steve Gaines
2012 – Josh Krupa
2011 – Bill Huffor
2010 – Kyle Gilbert
2009 – Steve Gaines
2008 – Jeff Nessel
2007 – Rob Lewis

Col. F. Don Miller Award

Below are excerpts from an article written by Danny Summers which appeared in The Gazette on 10/30/04.

Referee to receive Miller award, induction into CHSAA hall of fame

Longtime high school official Ray Lutz will be presented with the Col. F. Don Miller Award tonight at the Colorado Springs Sports Hall of Fame Banquet at the World Arena. He was also selected this week for induction into the Colorado High School Activities Association Hall of Fame. The CHSAA induction ceremonies will be held in January.

“I feel undeserving, and I certainly feel humbled and honored,” Lutz said. “With all of the outstanding people who are past recipients of the F. Don Miller Award, and all of the outstanding people who have been selected to the CHSAA Hall of Fame, I am honored to be among them.”

Lutz officiated his first basketball game in Iowa in 1959. He moved to Colorado Springs in 1965. Since then he has officiated more than 2,400 varsity contests, 500 playoff games including 18 state championship football and basketball games, and more than 20 state track and field meets.

The F. Don Miller Award honors people who have left a lasting contribution to Colorado Springs sports. Col. F. Don Miller played a monumental role in bringing the U.S. Olympic Committee to Colorado Springs in the 1970s.

In addition to the impact he’s made on youth, coaches and other officials, Lutz has been a Special Olympics coach for 16 years, a volunteer Parks and Recreation coach, and a Colorado Football Officials Association vice president. He also founded the Pikes Peak Track and Field Officials Association and continues to serve as president. Lutz taught elementary and adaptive physical education in District 11 from 1965 to 1995.

“All of Ray’s work and officiating over the past 40 years has left a lasting mark in Colorado Springs,” said Tom Falgien (first recipient of the Col. F. Don Miller Award in 1996), who also sits on the selection committee. “He’s soft-spoken and always a gentleman. I’ve never seen a conflict with a coach or a player.”

Ray has officiated some big games in Colorado Springs, but he has a hard time selecting a favorite. “I don’t know if I can pick one out, but the very first Wasson-Palmer football games I did in the 1960s were really fun,” he said. “That was the rivalry in the city in those days. Later there were the Wasson-Mitchell games. I always enjoyed inner-city rivalries.”

“He has great respect when he walks out on the field and people know he’ll do the job right,” Falgien said. “He does it by example.”

George Demetriou Hall of Fame

George Demetriou (Colorado Springs) – One of the state’s top officials, Demetriou is currently the state rules interpreter for football and baseball, two sports that he has officiated for over 21 years. He was also a basketball official for a decade in the state. Demetriou has umpired three state baseball championship games and been involved in the playoffs for 15 years. In football, he has called a pair of state championship games and worked playoffs in 11 seasons. He has been president of both football and baseball officials organizations. Demetriou served as president of the Colorado High School Baseball Umpires Association and has part of the playoff assignment process for the past 10 years. He also served three years as president of the Colorado Football Officials Association. He is a member of the Minor League Football Hall of Fame, was the recipient of the John Adams Officiating Award given by the Colorado Chapter of the National Football Foundation. He is prolific author for Referee Magazine, penning articles in both sports. He is the creator and author of the annual Colorado Study Guide in baseball and has had over 100 articles published on baseball rules and mechanics. He has authored football rules study guides for NCAA and NFHS rules, has published a book, Judgement Calls, addressing officiating philosophy and co-authors an annual football rules difference publication. He has had over 300 article published on football rules and mechanics. A long-time clinician, he is an active member of the National Association of Sports Officials.