The Colorado Springs Football Officials Association was created in the 1940’s to contribute to the educational experience and success of local Football programs by providing trained officials, to ensure that games conducted by these programs are played fairly and in accordance with the applicable rules.

In the 2012 season, 133 members worked 618 games at over 70 locations: Boundaries include Douglas County to the north, Genoa-Hugo to the east, Fountain-Fort Carson to the south, and Buena Vista to the west.

The CSFOA board consists of eight Crew Chiefs, two elected Directors to the Colorado Football Officials Association, the member at large, the Secretary/Treasurer and the immediate past Area Director.

Each spring, the eight crew chiefs draft eligible returning officials. “Rookie” officials attend 2 months of rules training (twice per week) and are drafted to the crews following their rules test.

A handful of CSFOA alumni currently work in the college Division I and II ranks; including Greg Burks, a Big 12 Referee; Nick Lave, a Big 12 Side Judge; and Randy Campbell, a PAC 12 Line Judge who worked the 2013 National Championship game.

Additionally, George Demetriou and Ray Lutz are active officials who have been inducted into the Colorado High School Activities Association Hall of Fame.